A Second Visit to Nantucket

“Minding the Light” is Suzanne Woods Fisher’s newest release in the “Nantucket Legacy” series, a unique story filled with fascinating history, a secondary plot from an earlier generation (in the form of a journal), and the unique setting of Nantucket Island in the 19th century. Published by Revell in the summer of 2018, this story of the Quakers who made a living from the dangerous whale trade is a must-read for all of Ms. Fisher’s Amish fiction fans.

Because “Minding the Light” is the second book in the series, I recommend reading the previous novel, “Phoebe’s Light”, first. This isn’t so much because of the main storyline, as it takes place several generations later. However, the journal pages that are included at the end of each chapter pick up right where they left off and are the common thread that weave the series together in a special way.

Because of realistic characters and a warm writing style, the time I spent reading “Minding the Light” was pleasant. I can’t deny that it was rather predictable and slower paced, but I would certainly recommend it to readers who enjoy Amish novels, and also those who love to learn (through fiction) surprising details about forgotten people and places in history. In conclusion, I enjoyed my second visit to Nantucket Island, and look forward to book number three set to release this autumn!

I received this book courtesy of Revell Publishing, in participation with a Revell Reads Blog Tour.  All opinions expressed in this review are my own.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s