Janette Oke’s Legacy Continues

We’ve reached the end of an era, folks!  Janette Oke, along with her daughter Laurel Oke Logan, have just penned what I presume will be their last novel.  Of course only time will tell if the duo has any more stories up their sleeves, but perhaps Janette is at last ready for retirement after decades of bringing us some of the most iconic and beloved stories in the Christian Historical Fiction genre.   Continue reading

Yet Another Memorable Story From Janette Oke!

Isn’t it amazing that after so many decades of writing inspirational, faith-filled novels that have touched the hearts of readers too numerous to count, Janette Oke is still releasing stories that take you on a journey of hope and love?  Once again alongside her daughter Laurel Oke Logan, Janette gives us the sweet second story in the “When Hope Calls” trilogy, entitled “Sustaining Faith”.  Published by Bethany House Publishers and the companion story to the Hallmark television series of the name, this story is  even more compelling and heart-wrenching than the first book, “Unyielding Hope”.   Continue reading

A New Novel from Janette Oke – What Could Be Better!

It feels like a long time since I’ve read anything by beloved author Janette Oke and her daughter Laurel Oke Logan, so I was delighted to hear that they are once again releasing a new series of books from Bethany House! This time it is the “When Hope Calls” series based on the Hallmark TV show of the same name – and it is distantly connected to the “Return to the Canadian West” / “When Calls the Heart” series as well. But anyway, aside from all the connections this new story makes, “Unyielding Hope” is a lovely story in its own right! Continue reading

The Heartwarming Final Installment

Where Hope Prevails imageAfter reading the “Return to the Canadian West” series conclusion, I feel as though I have reached the end of an era. “Where Hope Prevails” was written by Janette Where Courage CallsOke and Laurel Oke Logan and published by Bethany House in 2016. Interestingly, this story plays three important but very different roles… First, it is (presumably) the final book in its series. Second, it is a spinoff story to the original “Canadian West” series published several decades ago. And third, it is a companion story to Hallmark Channel’s “When Calls the Heart” television series. If you are unfamiliar with any of these connected stories, rest assured that after reading “Where Hope Prevails” you will undoubtedly find yourself not only picking Where Trust Lies imageup the rest of the series, but also speed-reading the original saga and devouring the entire 3-season-and-counting television series, too! Continue reading

Exciting News: Janette Oke and When Calls the Heart! UPDATED

Please scroll down for updated information…

okeAs most of you reading this probably know, at Prairie Sky Book Reviews we are HUGE fans of all things related to Janette Oke, When Calls the Heart, and Love Comes Softly.  Earlier this year we were thrilled to hear the Hallmark Channel announcement for a forthcoming Season 3 of the When Calls Where Trust Lies imagethe Heart television series in 2016, with a special Christmas movie to air in December.  With that announcement we have been wondering, will Janette Oke and her daughter, Laurel Oke Logan, release a third installment of the Return to the Canadian West series?  For the previous two years, each time Where Courage Callsa new television season was released, a book announcement for Where Courage Calls and then Where Trust Lies soon followed.  So it only makes sense…

Well…  Today we have the answer!  The third book in the series will be entitled Where Hope Prevails, and is scheduled to release in August of next year.  I know, that’s a long time to wait, but isn’t it exciting that our beloved author is still writing, and producing stories for us all to enjoy?  Here is the info about the book, as found on GoodReads:

When Beth Thatcher returns to Coal Valley, she has much to be excited about. She anticipates Jarrick’s proposal of marriage and perhaps a spring wedding. The mine is expanding, and there are more schoolchildren than ever.
But the town’s rapid growth brings many challenges. A second teacher is assigned, and Beth finds herself going head-to-head with a very different philosophy of education–one that dismisses religion and rejects God. Fearful for the children who sit under the influence of Robert Harris Hughes, Beth struggles to know how to respond.
At the same time, Beth wonders if Jarrick is considering a position at her father’s company simply for her sake. Should she admit her feelings on the matter? Or keep silent and allow Jarrick to make up his own mind?

Unfortunately no cover images have yet been released, but stay tuned for updates!  Click HERE to visit the GoodReads page for Where Hope PrevailsWhen Calls the Heart

Well, that’s all for now.  I can’t wait to see what is up next for Jack and Elizabeth in both the book series and the television series!  And, I wonder if the synopsis for the upcoming book gives any hint for the upcoming television season…?





A cover photo of Where Hope Prevails has been released, and it is my favorite in the trilogy!  What to YOU think?  Isn’t her dress lovely, and wouldn’t it be delightful if Elizabeth in the show wore something similar…?Where Hope Prevails image

If you read the description for this book here, it also gives a little bit more information…

Happily it mentions that the book is a TV tie-in, so we can keep our hopes up that the book and upcoming season 3 of our beloved When Calls the Heart do in fact correspond!

Unfortunately, it also includes the fact that this book is the third and FINAL book in the “Return to the Canadian West” series…  I certainly hope that this is not a forecast of the third television season of WCTH being the final one, but I suppose we will have to wait and see – and believe that the stories of Hope Valley will continue for many seasons to come!

Our First Giveaway!

Big news!  Prairie Sky Book Reviews is hosting our first giveaway this week…  Click the link below and follow the directions to be entered for your chance to win a FREE copy of Where Trust Lies, book 2 in the Return to the Canadian West series.

Where Trust Lies image

The winner will be contacted by email after April 12th, 2015.  The book will be sent by postal mail shortly after, and (depending on the location) should arrive in time for the opening episode of Season 2 of When Calls the Heart!

Click HERE to enter! 

OR, visit our Facebook giveaway event HERE!

Where Trust Lies is the second book in the Return to the Canadian West series, written by Janette Oke and Laurel Oke Logan.  (Please read my full review here).  It is also a companion story to Hallmark Channel’s delightful original series entitled When Calls the Heart, which premiered in the winter of 2014.  A second season is set to air on April 25, 2015.

Where Trust Lies review

Where Trust Lies headline

It’s been released! Finally, the long-awaited book 2 of the Return to the Canadian West series is available for patiently waiting fans. Where Trust Lies is the result of the mother-daughter collaboration by bestselling authors Janette Oke and Laurel Oke Logan, and was published in January of 2015 by Bethany House. Because this book is the sequel in a closely-knit series, it is highly recommended to read book 1, Where Courage Calls, before delving into the continuation of Beth Thatcher’s story. Interestingly, both books are also companion volumes to Hallmark Channel’s original television series, entitled When Calls the Heart. This exceptional program Continue reading